To say I've struggled with fitness would be an understatement. To say that I'm not completely nervous about what I am about to embark on would be a complete lie. To say that, by saying all of this out loud and putting it into the universe, I will be more likely to be a successful runner, is the only thing I know for sure right now.
I have created this page to chronicle the journey I am about to go on: to become a runner. I have tried all sorts of fitness routines, from cardio in the gym, walks outside, weight lifting, yoga, and at-home HIIT workouts. I enjoyed each of them, but I also get bored easily. Running has always been fascinating to me. It's so intriguing to hear runners talk about how obsessed they become with it, how much of a high it give them, and how much they could not live without running. My own brother went from not-a-runner to a great runner in what seemed like no time, even though I'm sure he worked hard at it and got better and better as time went on. I am the type of person who wants to be good at things NOW, as if I should just be able to do anything if I damn well feel like it. I sometimes overdo it, struggle, and then decide it's not for me. I "trusted the process", as they say, about a year and a half ago when my husband and I embarked on a fitness journey together. We ate clean, prepped meals, and were in the gym 5 days a week. We were getting into the best shape of our lives, we felt and looked great, but then life got in the way (oldest and worst excuse in the book), we let up on our routine, and everything went back to where we'd begun. It was frustrating, but also, it was a great way to learn, firsthand, that fitness is not a short term thing. In order to be a healthy person, mind, body, and soul, you have to stick with it--FOR LIFE. This means that we had to think about it as a long term part of life and not just a short term fix. We still struggle with a good balance of being real people, living a real life of food and fun and socializing, while also making sure we are eating healthy most of the time, and doing something active most days of the week. It's only when you work hard and then let it all go that you can realize, "Wow, I'm an idiot who wastes my own time." Ugh, the worst kind of idiots for sure.
So today is the day that I stepped out into the world, old running shoes on, sports bra snugly in place, Nike+ app ready to go, and took off running. It was a starter run, 10 minutes in all, 8 of which was running, but I know that if I start trying to run like my brother can now, I will a.) hurt myself and b.) definitely quit before I ever give myself a fighting chance.
So here it is, my journey to better myself, be more fit, keep myself healthy, and, dammit, figure out what the hell this "running high" is all about!
Today:
.86 mi
2 min walking, 8 min running
Results: I didn't die, and, in fact, I felt pretty ok with the level of workout 1
No comments:
Post a Comment